21-29 October 2017 sydney-polo-club

Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Media Release – November 2016

2017 WORLD POLO CHAMPIONSHIP TO PROVIDE MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR FINANCIAL BOOST TO LOCAL ECONOMY. More than $5 million will be injected into the Greater Western Sydney region when it hosts the World Polo Championship in October 2017.

The best eight Polo playing nations in the world will contest the event on the pristine fields of the Sydney Polo Club at Richmond in the Hawkesbury.

It is the first time Sydney will host the World Polo Championship on behalf of the Federation of International Polo, after winning the rights in December last year.

NSW Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events and Minister for Sport, Stuart Ayres said the unique event will bring a huge influx of visitors to the Hawkesbury region.

“The World Polo Championship is a great event for Hawkesbury, and a great event for NSW. It is set to attract competitors and visitors from around Australia and the world to the region, providing a boost to local hotels, restaurants and businesses. I encourage everyone to make plans to attend the event in October 2017,” Mr Ayres said.

Member for the Hawkesbury Dominic Perrottet said the World Polo Championship will showcase the Hawkesbury’s rich colonial and Indigenous history, pristine environment, and heritage to the world.

“We live in one of the most beautiful parts of Australia and this international event is a fantastic chance for us all to show off one of the hidden gems of our country and welcome thousands of people to our region,” Mr Perrottet said.

“At the last election I committed to better promote Hawkesbury and with the World Polo Championship we are delivering on that commitment.”

2017 World Polo Championship CEO Peter Higgins said the support of the NSW Government and the entire local community will help raise the bar and set a new international standard in the delivery of the World Polo Championship.

“This is not only an incredible opportunity for the sport of Polo here in Sydney’s greater west but it is guaranteed to provide a huge economic boost to the region,” Mr Higgins said.

“From the tourism trade, to hospitality, small business and community groups, everyone will benefit from us bringing to town what is undoubtedly the pinnacle event in this global sport. This is not exhibition Polo. This is the absolute highest standard in our sport.”

“From the moment we stated our intention to bid for the rights to host the World Polo Championship we have made it clear this would always be a community event that we can share and all be equally proud of.”

As the host nation, Australia is one of two teams guaranteed a place in the main draw. They will be joined by defending champions Chile, with the remaining teams to be determined through five qualifying events around the world next year. There are 86 national teams in contention.

The World Polo Championship will be held from 17-30 October next year. There will be six competition days during that period with entertainment and activities scheduled in between for players and visitors.

“That is great for everyone involved because it means the players get a chance to freshen up between matches and perform at their best, but it also gives them, their support crews and travelling fans the chance to explore the Sydney region while they are here. And that of course is a considerable financial boost for the local economy,” Mr Higgins said.

“One of the commitments we made very early on was that this was about more than just a sporting event. This was about showcasing Sydney and the Greater West. When teams arrive they will also be spending some time taking in the world famous sights and landmarks of the city of Sydney to really give them a rounded destination experience.”

“The 2017 World Polo Championship will have a very Australian theme. The best Polo players in the world, in the best competition in the world, absorbing the absolute best that the best city on the world has to offer. We are excited to play host.”

This will be the 11th time the World Polo Championship has been staged.

Argentina, Brazil, Chile and USA are all past winners of the title, while England, Italy, France, Spain, Mexico, India and Pakistan are all expected to feature prominently during the qualifying events.


Leave a Reply