21-29 October 2017 sydney-polo-club

The Tournament

The Tournament


The XI Polo World Championship will take place from 21-29 October 2017.  Eight international teams will compete to be crowned World Champions.  Each team will consist of four-players plus one reserve player.

To compete for World Championship status, the tournament will consist of a total of fourteen matches, played over a six-day period.

Day 1:              Saturday 21 October 2017

Day 2:              Sunday 22 October 2017

Day 3:              Tuesday 24 October 2017

Day 4:              Wednesday 25 October 2017

Day 5:              Saturday 28 October 2017

Day 6:              Sunday 29 October 2017 (Finals)


The Championship

The final eight teams will be placed within 2 x pools of 4, namely Group A and Group B.  Each team will play 3 matches within the league with an order of merit determining the eventual winners of each league. The winners of Group A and B will progress to the Championship final to be played on Sunday 29th October with the winner being crowned World Champion.

The second placed teams in Groups A and B will play off for 3rd and 4th places overall.

Each team member will be supplied with a string of ponies. This string will be two ponies per chukka, plus one reserve pony.  The polo ponies for this prestigious and unique event will be sourced nationally, donated by Australian polo players, many of them representing iconic families that have a proud long-standing associated with the sport.